Central West winners ‘shocked’ after being dubbed season’s best | Photos

Josh Peffer was stunned, George Hancock was realistic and Matt Fuller was, well, Matt Fuller.

The Temora Tuskers prop was typically low-key despite being named the GrainCorp Cup south’s player of the year at the Central West Rugby Union presentation breakfast on Friday morning.

Peffer was crowned the GrainCorp Cup’s north player of the year, his Molong side preparing for a preliminary final clash with Wellington on Saturday.

The Magpies breakway has been terrific for the black and whites this season, but was pretty adamant a couple of his own teammates – and maybe a few of the undefeated Geurie Goats – were more deserving of the gong.

While Hancock, the New Holland Agriculture Cup player of the year, has been arguably Narromine’s best throughout an unbeaten 2018, although the biggest argument will likely come from the man himself.

“I’ve been lucky to be surrounded by a great team and I’m taking a bit of the credit for them,” Hancock said.

“But we’ve had a great season and we’re looking forward to the next couple of weeks.”

Narromine plays Parkes on Saturday in the New Holland Cup’s major semi-final – the winner will host this year’s grand final day.

“We’ve worked hard all season, we’ve just got to keep doing what we’ve been doing. It’s worked so far, we just have to turn it on, on the day,” Hancock added.

Peffer was shocked to be dubbed his team’s best, let alone the premier player in the GrainCorp Cup’s north title race.

“I wasn’t expecting this,” he smiled.

“Especially with some of the players we have in our team and in our comp … Zac White for one, for us, he’s fantastic.”

Molong is one win away from another shot at the Goats, after Geurie won last week’s major semi-final 22-3. 

“We’d like to get another crack at them, it’ll be tough but we’ll give it a best shot,” Peffer added.

Fuller’s Tuskers are also in preliminary final mode, with a clash against the Grenfell Panthers in the forefront of the big prop’s mind despite his individual honour.

“Confident? It’s pretty even, but we’ve beaten them both times this year and hopefully we can get over them again and go to Harden,” he added.




Point scorer: Ted Hall (West Wyalong) 102; POTY: Matt Fuller (Temora);


Point scorer: Mitch Brown (Molong) 109; POTY: Josh Peffer (Molong);


Point scorer: Lloyd Rogers (Parkes) 107; POTY: George Hancock (Narromine)


Point scorer: Sharnah Stevens (West Wyalong) 281 points (including 37 tries); POTY: Claire Woolmington (CSU Bathurst);


Point scorer: Josh Weekes Bulldogs 143 points; POTY: Brad Glasson Bulldogs; Coach OTY: Dean Oxley Bulldogs

CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP: Bathurst Bulldogs;

REF OF THE YEAR: Pete Thomas.