Awards for selfless helpers| Photos

Hard-working volunteers from across the Orana region have been recognised for their contribution to society.

The annual Volunteer of the Year awards were held at the Dubbo RSL Memorial Club on Wednesday.

Heather Joy Beames was named as the 2017 Orana Region Volunteer of the year as well as the Adult Volunteer of the Year.

Centre for Volunteering CEO Gemma Rygate said Joy always had time to help those in need without asking for anything in return.

"In February this year, when fire raged through Warrumbungle Shire, Joy organised donations, clothing and fencing materials for farmers who lost fences and livestock,” she said.

Ms Beames is heavily involved in the recovery efforts for the Sir Ivan Fire. Her list of volunteer work is extensive. She’s held a range of positions within the CWA, has spent the past decade organising agricultural and environmental seminars, is on the Woman’s Rural Council and was president and secretary of Westerman District Swimming Association.

“Sometimes I think ‘what did I start?’ but it’s been amazing. It’s lovely to see the fences that have been erected and know I’ve been a part of that,” Ms Beames said.

Lee Hilder won the Young Volunteer of the Year.

Mr Hilder is the longest serving member of the Dubbo Youth Council. He joined in 2005. He’s also one of the longest serving volunteers at Midnite Cafe where he runs the sound and lighting desk, as well as training others to do so.

Senior Volunteer of the Year went to Sue Armstrong from the Warrumbungles.

Ms Armstrong has an extensive volunteer list. She’s the Tooraweenah Show Society President, president of the Tooraweenah CWA branch and Macquarie Group international officer. Part-time she’s also editor of the Toorabungles newspaper.

Recently Ms Armstrong developed a program to teach primary school children basic skills such as sewing buttons, photography and drawing.

The Volunteer Team of the Year was awarded to the Dubbo Westview Drive-in Youth Week 2017 crew.

There were more than 50 finalists in the team section.