OFFICIAL: Dubbo Regional Council results determined

Four of Dubbo Regional Council’s new councillors have been officially declared, after the distribution of preferences in both Central and East wards was completed on Thursday.

As expected, John Ryan and Vicki Etheridge were confirmed as the candidates to come out of Central, while Dayne Gumley and Stephen Lawrence were elected from East.

The process, which was literally done via two clicks of a mouse by returning officer Fiona Prentice, wasn’t spectacular but it did allow the formation of the new council to commence.

Mr Ryan was the only candidate to attend the event, and said he was keen to get started in his new role

“We’ve got a few weeks to wait until we’re sworn in as councillors and then elect a mayor,” he said.

“I don’t know why that process takes so long, I think people just want to get on with the job.”

Jane Diffey and Ben Shields each achieved a quota out of voting in North Ward and will be on the new council, however the final results from that ward, as well as South and Wellington, have not been finalised with the Electoral Commission as yet.

Greg Mohr and Kevin Parker are expected to be the pair of councillors from South Ward, while the race for Wellington is still too close to call.

Candidates in East and Central wards now have 24 hours if they wish to request a re-count.

UPDATE: As of 3pm, Dubbo Regional Council has a council.

The 10-member panel, comprising of two elected officials from each ward has been determined.

They are: John Ryan (Central), Vicki Etheridge (Central), Dayne Gumley (East), Stephen Lawrence (East), David Grant (Wellington), Anne Jones (Wellington), Greg Mohr (South), Kevin Parker (South), Jane Diffey (North), Ben Shields (North)