Blowes Clothing Cup 2017: Dubbo Kangaroos coach Dean Matthews says side can't afford ill-discipline against undefeated Orange Emus

HE'S BACK: Viliame Turuva returns to the Dubbo Kangaroos starting lineup on Saturday. Photo: BELINDA SOOLE
HE'S BACK: Viliame Turuva returns to the Dubbo Kangaroos starting lineup on Saturday. Photo: BELINDA SOOLE


It’s been an issue for the Dubbo Kangaroos for most of the season and coach Dean Matthews is adamant his side needs to be better come Saturday.

The Roos play host to the undefeated Orange Emus on Saturday, a side which possesses the ice cool sharp-shooting of experienced fullback Nigel Staniforth.

“If you give away a penalty inside your own 50 then Nige Staniforth can pot them from anywhere,” Matthews said.

“We can’t afford any ill-discipline because if you give away five penalties then you can easily be down 15-0.

“But they’re a good side all over with speed at the back and good, strong second rowers too who just keep going.”

Matthews is pleased with the side he has this weekend, as it is one of the strongest starting lineups seen from the Dubbo side in 2017.

While the Roos backline is electric, the back of Luke Ryan, Hamish Gordon, Viliame Turuva, Sione Lolohea and Billy Sing has scored more than a combined 70 tries this season, Matthews said the forwards will be key against Emus.

“Tommy Sheridan has been back and stringing a few games together, Willy Chaffey and Johnny Mafiti are there and Ned Williams has been outstanding, he’s probably playing the best footy of his career,” Matthews said of his forwards.

Captain Shaun McHugh returns to the No. 8 role after missing last week and provides vital experience and leadership.

  • DUBBO KANGAROOS: 1 Johnny Mafiti, 2 Ned Williams, 3 Will Chaffey, 4 Simon Hegarty, 5 Monty Hicks, 6 Tom Sheridan, 7 Hamish Smith, 8 Shaun McHugh ©, 9 Jock Brownhill, 10 Brad Pugh, 11 Hamish Gordon, 12 Sione Lolohea, 13 Billy Sing, 14 Viliame Turuva, 15 Luke Ryan
  • ORANGE EMUS: 1 Nas Havealeta, 2 Tom Goolagong, 3 Michael Graham, 4 Nick Hughes-Clapp, 5 Sam McLean, 6 Scott McLean, 7 Andrew Selwood, 8 Rob Thorburn, 9 TJ Cunynghame, 10 Mitch Evers, 11 Tom Green, 12 Lachie Harris, 13 Levi Russell, 14 James Simmons, 15 Nigel Staniforth © 


Discuss "Discipline will decide blockbuster clash"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.