CYMS wins three titles while Rugby wins two on Dubbo junior cricket grand final day

STARS: Henry Railz and Emma Hughes were named the Dubbo and District Junior Cricket Association cricketers of the year. Photo: CONTRIBUTED

STARS: Henry Railz and Emma Hughes were named the Dubbo and District Junior Cricket Association cricketers of the year. Photo: CONTRIBUTED

Dubbo’s 2016/17 junior cricket season came to a climax last weekend, with grand finals played in all six grades.

In a promising sign for the future of the game, all six senior clubs had at least one team part of the junior deciders, led by CYMS with four.

Not surprisingly, the Cougars took out the major trophy up for grabs with their talented under-16A side scoring a dominant win over Rugby.

Featuring the likes of Brock Larance, Thomas Nelson, Sam Knaggs and James Nelson, all part of the Cougars first grade senior squad, the 16A side was red hot and showed its class with a 107-run victory.

Larance top-scored with an unbeaten 74 while Thomas Nelson took three wickets.

Rugby gained some consolation though in the under-16B decider, where they beat Newtown.

CYMS tasted further success when they were victorious in the under-14A final, beating the South Dubbo-affiliated St Johns.

Led by a half-century to Brad Deveigne, CYMS made 7/163 while St Johns could only muster 117 in reply.

The under-14B grand final pitted Macquarie and RSL-Colts against each other, with the Blues scoring a dominant win.

Led by exceptional bowling from Latrell Fing (3/18 off 8) and Will Skinner (3/22 off 8), Macquarie was able to restrict Colts to a total of just 99.

The total would have been lower but for them conceding 37 extra but it mattered for little as their batsmen got the job done with a minimum of fuss.

Fing backed up his bowling by scoring 25 while Lachie O’Malley was the top-scorer, finishing unbeaten on 32 to guide the Blues to the title.

Rugby got their name on the trophy when they beat CYMS by nine wickets in the under-12A grand final.

Tom Knaggs took 3/12 for Rugby as they were able to bowl CYMS out for a total of 79.

Blake Smith was the best of the CYMS batsmen, making a classy 30.

Rugby’s score of 1/111 in their first 20 overs was enough for them, and they didn’t have to bat a second time.

Harrison Quinn raised his bat for 50 before retiring, and good good support from fellow opener Dudley Shepherd, who was unbeaten on 35 and did a good job for his side.

Dylan Bedingfield was the only CYMS bowler to get a wicket.

In the under-12B grand final CYMS capped off a big weekend by claiming their third title.

Their score of 8/127 was enough to hand them the win, with Rugby finishing on 7/73.

Jodan Porter (27no) was the best of the Cougars with the bat, making 27 not out while Oliver Williams retired on 26.

Rugby shared the wickets around, with Bailey O’Conner, Max McAneney, Mason Olney, Lincoln Boyle and Hayden Draper taking a wicket each.

For CYMS with the ball, Fletcher Hyde was the star as he finished with figures of 3/6 off his four overs.


Discuss "Junior grand finals deliver thrilling results | PHOTOS"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.