St Johns recognises its 2016 sporting stars

WORTHY WINNER: Jonty Busch receives the Gerard Yeo Memorial Trophy from Gerard's father Pat Yeo. Photo: CONTRIBUTED

WORTHY WINNER: Jonty Busch receives the Gerard Yeo Memorial Trophy from Gerard's father Pat Yeo. Photo: CONTRIBUTED

ST JOHNS College recently celebrated its sporting stars at a special ceremony.

Jack Allen (Swimming), Emma Corcoran (Opens Hockey), Courtney Hogan (Opens Hockey), Jones Comerford (Golf) and Lachlan Townsend (Cross Country) were commended on their achievements of making NSW State Combined Catholic Colleges in their chosen sports

The College junior boys triathlon team was commended for its efforts at the NSW All School triathlon where it came second.

The team was the leading NSW CCC team, and comprised of Dylan Eather (bike), Lachlan Townsend (un) and Lachlan Sinclair (swim).

For the third year in a row Jack Allen won the college swimmer of the year award.

He continually sets records at a diocesan level and won five silver medals at the NSW Combined Catholic Colleges event at Homebush during the year.

At the NSW All School’s Carnival, Jack received a bronze medal and a silver medal, and was selected in the NSW All Schools team to compete at the School Sport Australia National Championships in Darwin.

There he won two gold in the relays and silver in the 50m breaststroke and 100m breaststroke.

Matt Burton was crowned as the 2016 winner of the Pop Fahy Rugby League Player of the Year.

Matilda Montague was announced as the female soccer player of the year while Jonty Busch accepted the award for male soccer player of the year

The Netballer of the Year prize was awarded to Tara Parkinson, while the award for outstanding contribution to College rugby union went to Harry O’Leary

In athletics, the Kendall Swann Award was presented by Barry Swann to Hannah Mckeown, a dedicated 13-year-old who in 2016 broke the College javelin record which has stood for 37 years and won the Diocesan event.

At the NSW Combined Catholic Colleges Carnival, Hannah received a bronze in this event.

Jones Comerford claimed the Outstanding Achievement by an Individual in College Sport gong.

A talented golfer, Jones competed at a number of school and state golfing championships.

He was a NSW Combined Catholic Colleges representative and a NSW All Schools representative.

Pat and Kier Yeo attended the assembly and acknowledged the College for awarding the Gerard Yeo Memorial Trophy after their son.

The trophy is named in the honour of Gerard Yeo who lost his life in the Bali bombings of October 2002 and this year went to Jonty Busch.

Jonty has represented the College in cricket, athletics, cross country, swimming, soccer and touch football.

He has represented the Diocese a number of times at a CCC level and is always willing to help out with

officiating and even timekeeping.

Jonty epitomises the Gerard Yeo trophy as he is a bit of a larrikin and is always willing to try and play anything.