A flying start to track racing series for Kurt

KURT Eather has kicked off his 2016/2017 Dubbo City Toyota Track Racing Series with a bang, winning three of the four A grade events on the first points score night of the season.

Fine form: Dubbo Cycle Club's Kurt Eather (right), pictured with Dylan Eather and Luke Ensor. Photo: BELINDA SOOLE

Fine form: Dubbo Cycle Club's Kurt Eather (right), pictured with Dylan Eather and Luke Ensor. Photo: BELINDA SOOLE

Eather won both A grade scratch races and four lap handicap, with Vaughn Eather taking out the two-lap handicap, while Jason Farr, Tim Hines and Chris Couper scored minor placings.

Dylan Eather and Alex Russell were the winners of the four B-grade events taking out two events each over Danny Barber and Matt Fuller.

Heather Ticehurst’s strong early season form continued after she took out three of the four C-grade races, while youngster Brodie Wheeler took out the four-lap handicap as Haylee Fuller and Julia Graham recorded podium placings. Lachie Clark, Jason Canobie, Kevin Couper and Mitch Hines shared the four D-grade races, while Zac Fuller, Isabelle Russell, Louis Russell and Tyler Barnes were the winners of the junior division one events.

Will Gilbert and Emily Hines traded wins in the junior divison two races, with Tom Williamson, Georgia Farr, Chris Gilbert and Jessica Fuller scoring minor placings.

Junior development riders Hugh Mitchell, Isabell Marchant, Mason Shanks and Jarryd Fuller showed some great skill, as did super tots and tiny tots riders Aiki Wrigley, Jasmine Fuller and Cooper Farr. Dubbo Cycle Club held its annual general meeting at Club Dubbo on Monday night, with a large group of club members attending.

Matthew Gilbert was voted in as the new club president and will take over from outgoing president Craig Granger, who has stepped down from the position after four very successful years at the helm. Granger has seen a sharp rise in rider numbers and memberships at the club in the past four years and has been behind many successful initiatives that have seen the club expand to over 150 licensed members.

Gilbert was a highly decorated rider and has in recent years played a leading hand in the development of the club’s younger junior riders through coaching and handicapping. Warwick Campbell and Jason Canobie have been named the club’s new vice presidents, while Janette Eather and Michelle Ensor will reprise their roles as treasurer and secretary following unanimous support from the club committee and members. Following a very strong year on the road at Cycling NSW open events, David Gerrish was named the Club Captain, while Gus Dawson and Vaughn Eather will continue to impart their knowledge and experience as the club’s coaches.