Runciman and Neill are Blues in waiting

DSC 6700 
Charly Runciman back home in Dubbo during the season helping out with a St John's training session. Photo: AMY MCINTYRE.
DSC 6700 Charly Runciman back home in Dubbo during the season helping out with a St John's training session. Photo: AMY MCINTYRE.

The strength of Western Rams as a rugby league nursery has been highlighted by the selection of Dubbo's Charly Runciman and Jacob Neill (Nyngan) in Laurie Daley's Blues in Waiting squad.

Both are coming off the end of their first season of Toyota Cup football with St George-Illawarra.

Seven products of western clubs were named in Daley's squad to attend a camp from January 18-20, specifically aimed at preparing New South Wales' best emerging talent to make the step up to Origin.

Among the squad is Orange junior Jack Wighton, who already has had a taste of the NRL, playing nine top grade games for the Canberra Raiders this year.

Joining Wighton in camp is Cowra Magpies junior Josh Rainbow, along with five of the stars from Western Rams' under-18s rep program during the past two years.

St George-Illawarra trio Charly Runciman (Dubbo), Sam Coster (Parkes and Trundle), Jacob Neill (Nyngan) and Penrith Panther Toby Evans (Parkes) were all part of the Western Rams' victorious AAMI under-18s Country Championship title in 2011.

Joining the 2011 Rams will be the 2012 Western and Country front-rower Jake Goodwin, who has linked with the Cronulla Sharks.

A West Wyalong junior, Goodwin attended Red Bend Catholic College at Forbes in high school, playing juniors with the Blues then under-18s with Forbes Magpies for the past two seasons.

o Blues in Waiting squad:

Mitchell Cornish, Jack Wighton (Canberra); Adam Elliott, Danny Fualolo, David Klemmer, Leilani Latu, David Minute, Ryan Wilson (Canterbury); Jake Goodwin, Michael Lichaa, Josh Rainbow (Cronulla), Jake Walsh, Luke Bartley, Jacob Gagan, Fabian Goodall, Clinton Gutherson, Jake Trbojevic (Manly); Dean Britt, Richard Kennar (Melbourne); Adam Clydsdale, Jackson Hill, Jake Lawrence, Pat Mata'Utia, Ben Roose, Tom Rouse, Michael Steele, Kurt Warden (Newcastle); Frazer Masinamua, Ryan Matterson, Chad McGill, Kelepi Tanginoa, Vai Toutai, James Tuitahi (Parramatta); Nathan Aubusson, Bryce Cartwright, Toby Evans, Zac Mackay, James Roberts (Penrith); Aaron Gray, Jackson Garlick, Tyrone Phillips (South Sydney); Andrew Chard, Sam Coster, Shannon Crook, Evander Cummins, Craig Garvey, Jacob Neill, Charly Runciman (St George Illawarra); Samisi Langi, Clarrie Moore (Roosters), Luke Brooks, Kyle Lovett, Mitchell Moses, David Nofoaluma, Brendan Santi, Curtis Sironen (Tigers).


Discuss "Runciman and Neill are Blues in waiting"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.