Dubbo College rewards students

STUDENTS from Dubbo College have received accolades at this week's presentation of annual awards held at the Dubbo Regional Theatre.

More than 120 students representing all three campuses of the college were recipients of academic, cultural, citizenship, leadership and sports awards.

Academic awards went to 40 students from year 7 to year 12, with three girls dominating the year 12 category - Arthy Ananthapavan, Indu Haridharan and Brianna Powe.

In year 10 Rachel Baker, Erin Barwick, Irunika Hapwida, Adrian McCabe, Georgia Newton and Josh Ware also took out academic awards for their achievements in 2012.

Editor of the Daily Liberal Simon Chamberlain gave an inspiring occasional address during the presentation.

Students from the college who are part of the xsel virtual selective school program were recognised for their accomplishments this year.

These 10 students included Alexandra Brett, Cooper Crowe, Chayan Debnath, Shannon Finch, Charlotte Hoynes, Alice Knight, Ashwini Manorathan, Elijah Stanger-Jones, Samual Vail and Jacob Ware.

College dux for 2011 Emily Ainsworth was recognised for her achievement of a 99.35 ATAR in last year's Higher School Certificate examinations. Emily, who is currently studying advanced science at the University of Sydney, was busy with university exams, leaving Senior Campus principal Richard Skinner with the job of collecting the GH Taylor memorial medal on her behalf.

Mr Skinner was recognised by his peers during the presentation of awards for his commitment to the college during the past six years.

His time at the Senior Campus will conclude at the end of this year as he moves to Sydney to take up the position of Principal at Rose Bay Secondary College.

Cultural awards were presented to Kodi Lane, Emily Mills, Dale Johnson.

Leticia Quince, Lachlan Munn, Billie Palin, Henry Hooper, Jarrod Eisel and Talee Swords.

These awards recognise students who participate in cultural activities like music, drama and dance as well as those who develop cultural understanding.

Citizenship awards went to nine students across the college while leadership awards were presented to Daniel Runciman, Heidi Carolan, Natasha Heller, Meghan Read, Kerrod Potter, Melissa McDonald, Rachael Baker, Lachlan van Dartel, Josh Ware, Sarah Toohey, Nathan Hawkes and Teleria Milson.

Sporting awards, presented by Dubbo Public School principal Greg Shortis, went to college tennis champions Madellyn Buckland and Sam Wells, junior sportswoman of the year Taylah Gray and junior sportsman of the year Ben Patterson, as well as open sportwoman of the year Gemma Shepherson and open sportsman of the year Marty Roberts.

Service to public education awards were presented to staff members including Christine Back, Dianne Baker, Ross Gorrie, Robyn Hollow, Helen Jones, Jules Marshall, Vicki Mitchell, Cathy Muir, Kerry Piper, Calvin Reid, Margaret Wellington, Paul Woodhead and Marcia Nelson.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide